Brick and Tile Works
The industrial north of Pembury has been a bit of a mystery to a lot of people, and in examining the old maps it’s not surprising. The industrial site shifted over the years as new buildings were erected, demolished and further erected. They were also chasing limited deposits of clay.
The following old maps have been augmented with the presence of the industrial areas. The very last map shows today’s street plan and a set of markers that can be referenced to the older maps. This will help understand where the old sites were in relation to today’s topography.
They are all to roughly the same size and scale.
Above – 1868 map
Above – 1897 map
Above – 1909 map ( hoping to get full size map later )
Above – 1936 map
Above – 2010 map
The shape and junctions of Lower Green Road are quite consistent on all maps.
The following markers can be identified on some, but not all of the old maps.
A Triangulation survey point.
B Royal Oak Inn
C Queen’s Folly house.
D Lower Green Post Office
E Corner of Field
F Corner of Field
G Corner of Field
H Corner of Field
J Corner of Field
K Corner of Field
L Corner of Field
M Corner of Field
N Corner of Field – A change in direction of the boundary line
O Junction of industrial perimeter and Lower Green Road
Q Corner of industrial perimeter in 1897 map.
R Projection of line from point Q to the rear corner of the Royal Oak plot.
S Approximate location of Stone Court / Pembury Court on early maps
T The approximate location of a unique kink in the field contour in the early maps.
These are all approximate reference points.
Tony Nicholls 2013